Sports | Gallery

July 9, 2004

Legends of the Tour

The Tour de France has parcelled 28 per cent of its victories to five cyclists, all of whom won the Tour five times. A look at the Fab Five.

Jacques Anquetil of France

From the first day he seriously straddled a cycle, "Anq" had a sense of perfection most riders only dream of.

For much of his career he won tours in a 'quiet' way that the public didn't appreciate. For weeks he could stay close to his enemies, and then attack in a time trial. His method of 'just enough' didn't appease those who craved bold moves.

He was the first rider to win the Tour on five seperate occassions -- 1957, 1961, 1962, 1963 and 1964.

Photographs: Getty Images


Article Tools Email this article
Write us a letter

Copyright © 2004 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.