You are here: Rediff Home » India » News » Photos
Search: The Web
  Email  |      Discuss   |   Get latest news on your desktop
The Numbers Game

Every political party in India is now playing the number game.

The Congress-led United Progressive Alliance government, whose strength was reduced after the withdrawal of support by the Left Front, is expected to be short of the magic figure of 270 in the 543-member Lok Sabha. While the UPA is banking on undecided parties and Independent MPs, smaller parties are watching the political drama unfold and waiting for their chance to play kingmaker.

Will the UPA survive Tuesday's vote of confidence or will the Manmohan Singh-led government crumble due to lack of support?

A ready reckoner of who is with the UPA, who is against it and who is yet to decide.

The UPA and its supporters
Congress 153
Samajwadi Party 39
Rashtriya Janata Dal 24
Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam 16
Nationalist Congress Party 11
Pattali Makkal Katchi 6
Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 5
Lok Janshakti Party 4
All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen 1
Marumalarchi Dravida
Munnetra Kazhagam
National Conference 2
Indian Union Muslim League 1
Republican Party of India 1
Janata Dal - United (Rebel) 1
Bharatiya Janata Party (Rebel) 1
Nagaland People's Front 1
Independent 2
A Kerala Congress MP has been barred from voting in Parliament.

Two MDMK MPs will vote for the UPA while the other two party MPs will vote against.

BJP MP Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh will join the SP and support the UPA during the trust vote.

JD-U MP Ram Swarup Prasad will vote for UPA in defiance of his party whip.

Suspended BJP MP Somabhai Patel will vote for the UPA.

Those against the UPA
Bharatiya Janata Party 127
Communist Party of India-Marxist 43
Bahujan Samaj Party 17
Shiv Sena 12
Biju Janata Dal 11
Communist Party of India 10
Janata Dal - United 7
Shiromani Akali Dal 8
Telugu Desam Party 5
All India Forward Bloc 3
Telangana Rashtra Samithi 3
Revolutionary Socialist Party 3
Rashtriya Lok Dal 3
Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam 2
Assom Gana Parishad 2
Congress (Rebel) 1
Kerala Congress 1
Janata Dal-Secular 3
National Loktantrik Party 1
Independent 1
The Undecided
Independents 3
Bharatiya Navshakti Party 1
People's Democratic Party 1
Sikkim Democratic Front 1
Rebel Congress MP Kuldeep Bishnoi will vote against the UPA.

BJP MP from Bellary, Karunakara Reddy, has resigned from Lok Sabha.

Trinamool Congress MP Mamata Banerjee has decided to abstain from the trust vote.

The Mizo National Front has decided to abstain from the trust vote.

© 2008 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.Disclaimer | Feedback