You are here: Rediff Home » India » News » Photos
Search: The Web
  Email this Page  |   Write to us


Stage set for 14th SAARC Summit

April 02, 2007
On April 3, New Delhi will play host to representatives of eight South Asian countries, who will be here to attend the 14th summit of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation.

SAARC, comprising of India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, the Maldives, Bangladesh and Afghanistan, was established in 1985.

The two-day summit will be attended by Afghan President Hamid Karzai, Pakistan Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz, Sri Lankan President Mahinda Rajapakse, Nepalese Prime Minister G P Koirala, Maldives President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom, Bangladesh Chief Advisor Fakhruddin Ahmed and Bhutan Prime Minister Khandu Wangchuk.

This year, Iran has been named as the new observer.

Image : Nepal Prime Minister Girija Prasad Koirala with Prime Minister Manmohan Singh at the latter's residence in New Delhi.
Photograph: Raveendran/AFP/Getty Images
Also see: The transformation of SAARC

© 2007 India Limited. All Rights Reserved.Disclaimer | Feedback