The Web


    Home | News | Gallery

< Next >  

For a Muslim, the Haj, a journey to Mecca during the Islamic month of Dhu'l Hijja, is a personal milestone, as it is one of the five mandates of his faith. The other four are fasting during the holy month of Ramzan, Zakat (giving alms), Namaaz (praying five times a day), and Shahadah (faith in Allah).

Image: Muslim pilgrims attend the Friday prayer at Mecca's Grand Mosque on January 6.

Also See: Eid Mubarak

Photograph: Muhannad Fala'ah/Getty Images

< Next >  

Article Tools Email this article
Write us a letter